Obtaining a marriage license in Hawaii
A license is required for a Marriage in the State of Hawaii. Couples can apply online by filling out a Marriage License Application. The marriage license fee is $65.00 and payment can be made online. The marriage license expires 30 days from and including the date of issuance.
The application must be finalized in person by an agent of the Department of Health. Once the license has been issued, there is no waiting period before the marriage can take place. Couples need to bring this paperwork to their wedding and present it to their Wedding Officiant. When your ceremony is complete, your wedding officiate will file your document on-line with the State of Hawaii.
For more information visit the Department of Health
Where to obtain your marriage license with a Licensing Agent
Hawaii Department of Health
1250 Punchbowl Street, Honolulu, HI 96813
Hours: 8am to 3:30pm, Monday to Friday
Phone (808) 586-4545
Agents available after hours, weekends and holidays.
In Honolulu: Sherilynn Luning (808) 523-1880 / (808) 679-1326
In Pearl City: Fusako Miyamoto (808) 455-1186
Don’t forget to bring your completed license to the ceremony.
Beach Wedding Permit
All beaches in Hawaii, except for military beaches, are public beaches owned by the state of Hawaii. Beach permits are required for weddings that occur within the average high tide line and the ocean. To obtain a beach permit for weddings you are required to have a General Liability Insurance policy which specifically names the state of Hawaii as an additionally named insured party on the policy.
For further information visit
Department of Land & Natural Resources
Permits are required for beach locations regardless of the number of persons in attendance. Failure to comply can result in a ceremony being halted and fines may be issued.
Beach Wedding Permit & Liability Insurance Fee $55.00
Contact Us with questions.